Health Care Stabilization Fund Refund Request Directions

The Kansas Department of Administration requires an IRS W-9 form for all refunds. The following instructions may be of
assistance when seeking a refund from the Health Care Stabilization Fund due to overpayment, a mid-coverage period
cancellation or termination, lower rating classification change or other situations that may be eligible to receive a surcharge
refund.

e  Minimum Refund - Pursuant to state law, the minimum refund amount is $5.00.

e  Minimum Surcharge of $200.00 — A minimum $200.00 surcharge (will not be refunded) must be retained for each
compliance period. The minimum surcharge applies to all Fund compliance periods, including short-term policies
and surcharge refund adjustments due to mid-term cancellation or termination of existing compliance periods.

e FEIN Number/Social Security Number - The federal taxpayer identification number or social security number
of the person that will be the payee on the refund check is required. Unless the payee has already filed an IRS
W-9 form with the State of Kansas, we must obtain a completed and signed W-9 form. If this information is not
provided, a refund cannot be processed.

o Withholdings - The State of Kansas withholds any refund amount if other debts, such as back taxes, are owed to
the State of Kansas. This is the policy of the State of Kansas, not the Health Care Stabilization Fund.

e Notice of Cancellation - A notice of cancellation must be submitted to the HCSF prior to the issuance of any
refund request. Cancellations should be sent to HCSFcancellationrequest(@ks.gov.

e Designated Payee - Surcharge payments are attributed to the individual health care provider. Section 3 must be
completed if payment should be refunded to another person or organization.

e Signature - A signature is required on the refund request form before a refund can be processed.

e In circumstances where a refund request is received before the actual surcharge payment is received, HCSF staff
may require additional documentation causing delays in the refund being issued. HCSF class code change &
terminations require additional documentation and processing times may be affected.

e Typical processing times are approximately three weeks if the form is properly completed and if all of the supporting
documents have been received. Supporting documents include the original coverage document and surcharge
payment; a mid-term termination or cancellation notice from the insurance company; a rate classification change
document from the insurance company or, a corrected Notice of Basic Coverage Form from the insurance company.

e [Expect delays if required information is missing or incomplete.

Important
Information, guidelines and other explanations of the Health Care Provider Insurance Availability Act, K.S.A. 40-3401 et.
seq, provided in this document are intended to assist insurers and others in gaining a general understanding of certain features
of the law governing the Health Care Stabilization Fund. This document is not intended to alter or replace the statutory
requirements or any court decision regarding the Fund law or the administration of any of the requirements of that law.

Note: The Fund law requires that insurers notify the Board of Governors within ten days of canceling a policy at the request
of the insured health care provider. If for some reason the notice to the Board is not consistent with the statutory ten-day
notice requirement, the refund will be based on the postmark date of the notice minus ten business days.

Please contact the HCSF office if you have questions or need additional assistance, at the email address listed below.

Health Care Stabilization Fund
300 SW 8™ Ave, 2™ Floor, Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 291-3777; Fax: (785) 291-3550; Email: HCSFrefundrequest(@ks.gov



mailto:HCSFrefundrequest@ks.gov
mailto:HCSFcancellationrequest@ks.gov

Refund Request for HCSF Surcharge Payment

(In order to process a refund, an IRS W-9 form must accompany this request.)

Section 1
HCSF ID# (Optional):
Health Care Provider’s Name:
Last Name First Name Kansas License Number
Daytime Phone Number: - - FEIN Number or Social Security Number:
HCP Residence:
Street Address City State  Zip Country if not U.S.
Contact Person: Email address:
Section 2
Name of Insurance Company:
Insurance Policy Number: Effective Date: / / Expiration Date: / /
Date of Midterm Cancellation: / / Reason for Refund Request:
(e.g., overpayment, cancellation, or class code)
Original Premium Amount: $ Original Surcharge Amount: $
Revised Premium Amount: $ Revised Surcharge Amount: $

Refund Amount: $

Premium & Surcharge were financed by:

Name of Finance Company

Section 3
Optional Release of Refund Payment — Complete this section only if you want your refund paid to another person or organization.

Designated Payee: FEIN Number:
Name of Payee

Mailing address:

Street Address City State  Zip
If the insured submits the same request, I agree to hold harmless the HCSF Board of Governors and the Health Care Stabilization Fund.

(An IRS W-9 form for the designated payee must accompany this request.)

Section 4

Signature (digital signatures are accepted): Date: / /
(Refund cannot be processed without a signature.)

Note: 10-day rule - Subsection (a) (2) K.S.A. 40-3402 requires that insurers notify the Board of Governors of cancellation of basic
coverage in a timely manner. In the event of late notice of cancellation of basic coverage by an insurer, the Board of Governors will
calculate the unearned Health Care Stabilization Fund surcharge based on the date of the notice of cancellation was postmarked minus
ten business days.

Cancellation notices need to be sent separately to HCSFcancellationrequest@ks.gov. Refunds will not be processed until receipt of
cancellation notice is received.

Mail or email completed form with W-9 to address below.

Health Care Stabilization Fund
300 SW 8™ Ave, 2™ Floor, Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 291-3777; Fax: (785) 291-3550; Email: HCSFrefundrequest(@ks.gov
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