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General Guidelines: Kansas resident health care providers who have an “Active” license to practice in Kansas are 
required by law to comply with the basic professional liability insurance (PLI) requirements and participate in the Health 
Care Stabilization Fund (HCSF). If you have been a resident health care provider, and you are now a non-resident health 
care provider, your commercial insurance company may no longer handle the compliance requirements. If unsure a 
business entity meets the requirements of a defined health care provider, please email your request to hcsf@ks.gov. 
 

• Insurance: A certificate of insurance is not required with submission. However, the PLI must meet the minimum 
limits of $500,000 per claim subject to not less than a $1,500,000 annual aggregate limit for each individual health 
care provider. The insurance company listed in this section must be authorized (admitted) to do business in Kansas. 
The insurance agent or company representative should be able to assist in making these determinations, but if there 
is a question about the status of the basic coverage insurer in Kansas, you may wish to contact the HCSF office for 
assistance at hcsf@ks.gov.  
 

o Your primary practice carrier should be made aware of any previous Kansas exposure and current Kansas 
exposure. Kansas Law requires prior acts coverage.  

 
o Professional liability insurance being provided to Kansas resident health care providers by a self-insurer 

will not meet the basic coverage requirements of the Kansas Health Care Provider Insurance Availability 
Act. It will be necessary to purchase basic coverage for the Kansas practice and pay the applicable surcharge 
to the Health Care Stabilization Fund. Self-insured policies are not accepted for primary coverage. Please 
email hcsf@ks.gov for further instructions.  

 
o Claims Made/Occurrence Policies: Per K.S.A. 40-3402 primary malpractice coverage must be written as a 

claims made policy. However, a person engaged in residency training who is providing services as a 
healthcare provider but, while providing such services (“moonlighting”), is not covered by the self-
insurance provisions of K.S.A. 40-3414(d), and amendments thereto, may obtain basic coverage under an 
occurrence form policy. 

 
o The carrier, who is responsible in the event of a medical malpractice claim, must be clearly noted on the 

certificate of insurance.  
 

o The Fund coverage is an annual renewal based on the professional liability insurance policy dates. 
Providers have 30 days to submit from the policy expiration date.   

 
• Application: In order for an application to be processed, the provider must have “Active” as the license type on the 

Kansas State Board of Healing Arts website or “Active” as the status on the Kansas State Board of Nursing website. 
Websites for these agencies and additional agencies you may need access to are listed below for your convenience. 
 
Kansas State Board of Healing Arts - KS Board of Healing Arts website | Home 

 
Kansas Board of Nursing - ksbn.kansas.gov | Kansas Nursing Board 
 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment - KDHE, KS | Hospitals/ASC 
 
Secretary of State - sos.ks.gov | Business Entity Search 
 
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability - https://www.kdads.ks.gov | Nursing Facilities 
 

• Application Surcharge: HCSF requires a $200 minimum surcharge payment per compliance period. Payments 
less than $200.00 will delay the processing of the application and the additional surcharge will be requested. All 
surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. (The minimum surcharge applies to all Fund 
compliance periods, including short-term policies and surcharge refund adjustments due to mid-term cancellation or 
termination of existing compliance periods.) The surcharge is the cost of the excess professional liability coverage 
provided by the Fund.  

 
 
 

mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
http://ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch40/040_034_0002.html
https://ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch40/040_034_0014.html
https://www.ksbha.ks.gov/home
https://ksbn.kansas.gov/
https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/
https://www.sos.ks.gov/eforms/BusinessEntity/Search.aspx
https://webapps.kdads.ks.gov/prod/f?p=113:901:
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Resident Application: 

Complete the attached application per instructions, or 
 
To access the online compliance application, click on this hyperlink: Compliance E-Form 
 

Application Instructions:  
A paper or web-based application should be accurate and complete to avoid delays. (Incomplete applications will be returned.) 
 
Section 1: Name must match the name indicated on the health care provider’s Kansas license and the health care 
provider’s legal residence address. Provider’s birthdate, phone number and email address are required.  
 
If the HCP is a facility or business, it is important to indicate the name identified on the license or in the articles of 
incorporation and legal location of facility/business.  
 
List a preferred mailing address if different from legal residence address/business address.  
 
Section 2: Choose the correct Kansas licensing agency or choose business entity/hospital/facility box. List provider’s 
complete license number, which often includes a prefix and hyphen (e.g. 04-00000).   
       
Section 3: Enter current insurance carrier and policy information. The information provided in this section needs to be 
for the current year’s renewal. (We cannot process current year’s applications with the previous year’s renewal information.)  
 
Occurrence Policy – Residents in training are self-insured by the state of KS under a unique statutory arrangement. 
However, some residents purchase a separate insurance policy to cover their liability exposure in an extracurricular 
positon (“moonlighting”) during residency training. This policy may be an occurrence policy.  
 
Section 4: 
HCSF Classification Groups 1-14 
 
1) Please select the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Number that best describes the professional 

services you will be rendering in/for Kansas. (See pg. 4 of instructions.) 
 

2) Missouri modification factor of 30%, applies to HCP providers residing in Kansas who an active license to render 
professional services in Missouri.  

 
3) Insurance premium amount is required per K.S.A. 40-3402 (1). If not listed, the application will be returned.  

 
4) From the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Rates table, find the annual surcharge amount based 

on your Fund Class Group Number. (See pg. 4 of instructions.) 
 
If the policy issued is short-term, prorate the surcharge by taking the number of days between the policy effective 
date and the expiration date and divide it by 365. Round to the nearest whole percent.  
 
Example: Short–term policy = 124 days ÷ 365 days = 0.339726 = (34%) 

 
5) Unique circumstance part-time policy is when the PLI has issued a part-time policy. This ratio may be a 

reasonable estimate comparing the amount of patient care provided in Kansas compared to the health care provider’s 
total professional practice during a twelve-month period. This does not apply to health care providers who 
practice part-time in Kansas and part-time in other states as well. 

 
Multiply the HCSF surcharge by percent (cannot be less than 50%) of Kansas practice. All surcharge payments must be 
rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. 
 
 
 

https://hcsf.kansas.gov/providers/e-compliance/
http://ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch40/040_034_0002.html
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Examples: 
HCSF Class Group 1 = $404.00 

  
(100% of practice in/for KS) - $404.00 surcharge due 
 
(30% MO surcharge) - $404.00 x 30% = $525.00 

 
(50% of practice in/for KS) - $404.00 x 50% = 202.00 surcharge due  
 
The minimum surcharge payable per compliance period is $200 for each health care provider. 

 
 Section 4: 
HCSF Classification Group 15 
 
The premium and surcharge for this class will be collected by the Kansas Health Care Provider Insurance Availability 
Plan (The Availability Plan) and submitted directly to the Fund on the health care provider’s behalf. 

 
Section 4: 
HCSF Classification Groups 16-24 
 
1) Please select the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Surcharge Percent that best describes the 

professional services the HCP will be rendering in/for Kansas. (See pg. 4 of instructions) 
  

2) Missouri modification factor of 30%, applies to HCP providers with an active registration or license to provide 
professional services in Missouri. 

 
3) Determine the amount of individual annual insurance premium paid for professional liability insurance purchased 

from your insurance company. Multiply the individual annual insurance premium by the surcharge percent from 
the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Rates. (See pg. 4 of instructions.) 
 

• If the policy is a short-term policy, the insurance premium paid should reflect the prorated insurance 
premium amount. The HCSF surcharge should not be prorated because it is the product of the applicable 
percentage rate applied to the premium, which is already prorated. 

  
Examples: 
HCSF Class Group 16 = Individual insurance premium $1,500.00 x HCSF surcharge 14% = $210.00  
 
(30% MO surcharge factor) = Individual insurance premium $1,500.00 x HCSF surcharge 14% = $210.00 x 30% = $273.00 
 
The minimum surcharge payable per compliance period is $200 for each health care provider. 

 
Section 4: 
Submitting payment 
 

To access the online payment portal, use the following link: KanPay 
 

To download the mail-in payment form, use the following link: HCSF Multi Surcharge Form 
  

The minimum surcharge payable per compliance period is $200 for each health care provider. 
 

 

https://appengine.egov.com/apps/ks/hcsf/surchargepayment
https://hcsf.kansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/HCSF-Multi-Surcharge-Form.xls
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Class 
Group Surcharge Class Group Description 

1 $404 Physicians No Surgery - Allergy, Dermatology, Forensic Medicine, Legal Medicine, Pathology, Psychiatry 
(including children), Psychoanalysis, Psychosomatic Medicine, Public Health 

2 $788 

Physicians No Surgery - Aerospace Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes, Endocrinology, Family 
Practice, Gastroenterology, General Practice, General Preventive Medicine, Geriatrics, Gynecology, 
Hematology, Hypnosis, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Laryngology, Neoplastic Diseases, 
Nephrology, Neurology (including child), Nuclear Medicine, Nutrition, Occupational Medicine, 
Ophthalmology, Otology, Otorhinolaryngology, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physiatry, Physical Medicine & 
Rehabilitation, Pulmonary Diseases, Radiology, Rheumatology, Rhinology, Urgent Care Physicians, & (other 
Physicians who are not performing surgery and are not otherwise classified) 

3 $1,261 

Physicians Performing/Assisting Minor Surgery or in Surgery - Cardiovascular Disease, Dermatology, 
Diabetes, Endocrinology, Family Practice (no OB procedures), Gastroenterology, General Practice, Geriatrics, 
Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Invasive 
Procedures (as defined and classified by the basic coverage insurer), Laryngology, Neoplastic Diseases, 
Nephrology, Neurology (including children), Ophthalmology (including minor and major surgery), Otology, 
Otorhinolaryngology, Pathology, Pediatrics, Radiology, Rhinology, Shock Therapy, & (other Physicians who 
are involved in minor surgery and are not otherwise classified) 

4 $1,336 Family Physicians/General Practitioners Performing/Assisting Minor Surgery - includes obstetrical 
procedures, but not Cesarean Sections 

5 $1,610 Surgical Specialists - Broncho-Esophagology, Colon and Rectal, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Geriatrics, 
Neoplastic, Nephrology, Urological, Family Physicians or General Practitioners (major surgery) 

6 $1,701 Surgical Specialists - Emergency Medicine (minor surgery), Laryngology, Otology, Otorhinolaryngology, 
Rhinology 

7 $1,337 Specialists In Anesthesiology - Physicians or DDS certified by the Board of Healing Arts to administer 
anesthetics. 

8 $3,248 
Surgical Specialists - Emergency Medicine (major surgery), Abdominal, Bariatric, Gynecology, Hand, 
Head and Neck, Plastic ( and/or Otorhinolaryngology), & (others who are involved in major surgery and 
are not otherwise classified) 

9 $3,571 Surgical Specialists - Cardiac, Cardiovascular Disease, Orthopedic, Thoracic, Traumatic, Vascular 
10 $4,637 Surgical Specialists - Obstetrics, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Perinatology 
11 $10,606 Surgical Specialists - Neurology/ Neurosurgeons (including children) 
12 $222 Chiropractors 
13 $373 Nurse Anesthetists 
14 $907 Podiatrists 

 
Class 

Group 
Surcharge 

Percent Class Group Description 

Percent based surcharges are calculated by the individual annual basic professional liability coverage. Do not alter/round surcharge 
percent. (Note: Class Group 15 is the only classification available for providers insured by the Health Care Provider Insurance 
Availability Plan) 

15 21.9 % All health care providers insured by the Kansas Health Care Provider Insurance Availability Plan, including 
authorized basic professional liability self-insurers. 

16 14.0 % Professional Corporations, Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies and Not-For-Profit 
Corporations (as defined by health care provider in K.S.A. 40-3401(f)) 

17 19.3 % Medical Care Facilities- (Special Hospitals, General Hospitals, Surgical Centers or Recuperation Centers) 
18 15.0 % Mental Health Centers/Clinics 
19 15.0 % Psychiatric Hospitals (selected facilities only) 
20 15.0 % Persons engaged in approved residency training programs 
21 15.5 % Physician Assistants 
22 18.5 % Nurse-Midwives 
23 15.3 % Assisted Living Facilities and Residential Health Care Facilities 
24 13.7 % Nursing Facilities 

 
An additional 30% surcharge is required for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license. 
 
Minimum surcharge $200.00 All surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. The minimum surcharge applies to all 
fund compliance periods, including short-term policies and surcharge refund adjustments due to mid-term cancellation or termination of existing 
compliance periods.  

mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
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____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Section 1 - Health Care Provider Identification and Residency  

Health Care Provider’s Name: ______________________________________ ________________________________ ___________ _____________ 
   Last Name                                                            First Name                                               MI                  Prof. Acronym 

Or Business Entity/Hospital/Other Facility Name: _______________________________________________________________________________ 

Date of Birth: _____/_____/________ Daytime Phone Number: _____-_____-________ HCP Email Address: _______________________________ 

Legal Residence: ______________________________________________ ________________________ ________ __________ ________________ 
(Or facility legal address)      Street address                                                       City                                          State         Zip               Country if not U.S. 

Mailing Address: ______________________________________________ ________________________ ________ __________ ________________ 
(If different from above)       Street address                                                        City                                          State         Zip               Country if not U.S.  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 2 - Health Care Provider Credentials - Fund Coverage: $500,000/$1,500,000 

Statutory credentials: 

Kansas Licensing Agency: _____ Board of Healing Arts   _____ Board of Nursing   _____ Business Entity/Hospital/Other Facility  

Provider’s Kansas License/Registration Number: ____________________________________________ (include dashes/hyphens)  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 3 – Insurance Policy and Information 

Insurance Company (The insurance carrier writing the professional liability policy.): ____________________________________________________ 

Insurance Policy Number: ________________________________________ Effective date: ____/____/_______ Expiration date: ____/____/_______  

Type of Coverage: _____ Claims Made _____ Occurrence (Occurrence Requirement: see pg. 2 instructions)  

Company Rep.: ____________________________ Phone Number: _____-_____-_______ Email Address: __________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 4 – HCSF Surcharge Calculation (Rate table/MO modification factor pg.4 of instructions.) 

Class Groups 1-14 (only complete applicable lines) 

HCSF Classification Group Number: _____ Insurance Premium Amount (required): $___________ Active MO license: ____ No ____ Yes 

Surcharge amount for HCSF Class Group Number above    = $ 

Missouri active license modification factor, added additional 30%           = $ 

Short-term policy, number of days (< 365 days) _____ ÷ 365 rounded to nearest whole percent.  _____ % x surcharge   = $ 

Unique Circumstance (part-time policy) can be no less than 50% (see pg. 2 of instructions).  _____ % x surcharge   = $ 

  HCSF Premium Surcharge Paid  =  $ 

Class Groups 15-24 (only complete applicable lines) 
(Percent based surcharges are calculated by the individual annual basic professional liability coverage.) 

HCSF Classification Group Number: _____ Insurance Premium Amount: (required) below Active MO license: ____ No ____ Yes 

Individual annual insurance premium paid $____________ x HCSF Class Group Number surcharge _____ % from table  =          $ 

Missouri active license modification factor, added additional 30%  = $ 

(If short-term policy, the insurance premium paid above should be the prorated insurance premium amount.)    

  HCSF Premium Surcharge Paid   = $ 

NOTE: The Minimum surcharge fee is $200.00 All surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. (The minimum 
surcharge fee applies to all Fund compliance periods, including short-term policies and surcharge refund adjustments due to mid-term cancellation 
or termination of existing compliance periods.) 

For insurer explanation of (e.g. locum, part-time etc...) HCSF USE ONLY 

mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
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