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General Guidelines: Non-resident health care providers who have an “Active” license to practice in Kansas are required 
by law to comply with the basic professional liability insurance (PLI) requirements and participate in the Health Care 
Stabilization Fund (HCSF). If you have been a resident health care provider, and you are now a non-resident health care 
provider, your commercial insurance company may no longer handle the compliance requirements. If unsure a business 
entity meets the requirements of a defined healthcare provider, please email your request to hcsf@ks.gov. 
 

• Insurance: A Certificate of Insurance from an accepted professional liability carrier is required per K.S.A. 40-3402 
for each Fund submission with minimum limits of $500,000 per claim subject to not less than a $1,500,000 annual 
aggregate limit for each individual health care provider. The insurance company listed in this section must be 
authorized (admitted) to do business in Kansas. If it is not an authorized (admitted) Kansas insurance company, 
then a non-admitted insurance company may be used if the non-admitted insurer has completed and filed a 
Declaration of Compliance Form with the Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund. The insurance agent or company 
representative should be able to assist in making these determinations, but if there is a question about the status of 
the basic coverage insurer in Kansas, you may wish to contact the HCSF office for assistance at hcsf@ks.gov. You 
will be considered non-compliant until an accepted carrier has provided a certificate of insurance. 
 

o Your primary practice carrier should be made aware of any previous Kansas exposure and current Kansas 
exposure. Kansas Law requires prior acts coverage.  

 
o Professional liability insurance being provided to non-resident health care providers by a self-insurer will 

not meet the basic coverage requirements of the Kansas Health Care Provider Insurance Availability Act. 
It will be necessary to purchase basic coverage for the Kansas practice and pay the applicable surcharge to 
the Health Care Stabilization Fund. Self-insured policies are not accepted for primary coverage. Please 
email hcsf@ks.gov for further instructions.  

 
o Claims Made/Occurrence Policies: Per K.S.A. 40-3402 primary malpractice coverage must be written as a 

claims made policy. One exception is if the provider is a non-resident health care provider, works less than 
182 days and holds a locum tenens contract. This criteria will allow an occurrence policy in Kansas. 

 
o The carrier, who is responsible in the event of a medical malpractice claim, must be clearly noted on the 

certificate of insurance. Market places such as “Lloyds of London” is not specific enough to distinguish as 
a primary carrier.  

 
o The Fund coverage is an annual renewal based on the professional liability insurance policy dates. One 

month prior to the expiration date, a renewal notification letter is sent to the mailing address on file. 
Providers have 30 days to submit from the policy expiration date.   

 
• Application: In order for an application to be processed, the provider must have “Active” as the license type on the 

Kansas State Board of Healing Arts website or “Active” as the status on the Kansas State Board of Nursing website.  
Websites listed below for your convenience. 
 
Kansas State Board of Healing Arts - Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (ksbha.org) 

 
Kansas Board of Nursing - ksbn.kansas.gov | Kansas Nursing Board 
 

• Application Surcharge: HCSF requires a $200 minimum surcharge payment per compliance period. Payments 
less than $200.00 will delay the processing of the application and the additional surcharge will be requested. All 
surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. (The minimum surcharge applies to all Fund 
compliance periods, including short-term policies and surcharge refund adjustments due to mid-term cancellation or 
termination of existing compliance periods.) The surcharge is the cost of the excess professional liability coverage 
provided by the Fund.  

mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
http://ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch40/040_034_0002.html
mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
http://ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch40/040_034_0002.html
http://www.ksbha.org/main.shtml
https://ksbn.kansas.gov/
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Non-Resident Application: 

Complete the attached application per instructions, or 
 
To access the online compliance application, click on this hyperlink: Compliance E-Form 
A digital image of a Certificate of Insurance with providers name listed is required as an attachment to the electronic compliance 
form. 
 

Application Instructions:  
A paper or web-based application should be accurate and complete to avoid delays. (Incomplete applications will be returned.) 
 
Section 1: Name must match the name indicated on the health care provider’s Kansas license; the health care provider’s 
legal residence address (cannot be a Kansas address). Provider’s birthdate, phone number and email address are required. 
List a preferred mailing address if different from residence address.  
 
Section 2: Choose the correct Kansas licensing agency, list professional specialty and list provider’s complete license 
number, which often includes a prefix and hyphen (e.g. 04-00000). 
 
Section 3: Enter current insurance carrier and policy information. The information provided in this section needs to be 
for the current year’s renewal and must correspond with the certificate of insurance submitted with the application form. 
(We cannot process current year’s applications with the previous year’s renewal information.) A copy of the current certificate 
of insurance with the providers name listed is required with each submission. (Failure to submit a copy of the certificate of 
insurance listing the provider’s name will delay certification.)  
 
Section 4: 
HCSF Classification Groups 1-14 
 
1) Please select the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Number that best describes the professional 

services you will be rendering in Kansas. (See pg. 4 of instructions.) 
 

2) From the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Rates table, find the annual surcharge amount based 
on your Fund Class Group Number. (See pg. 4 of instructions.) 

 
If the policy issued is short-term, prorate the surcharge by taking the number of days between the policy effective 
date and the expiration date and divide it by 365. Round to the nearest whole percent.  
 
Example: Short–term policy = 124 days ÷ 365 days = 0.339726 = (34%) 

 
3) Enter percent of Kansas practice. If not rendering services in/for Kansas, must enter “0”. Multiply the HCSF 

surcharge percent by percent of Kansas practice. All surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. 
 

This ratio may be a reasonable estimate comparing the amount of patient care provided in Kansas compared to the health care 
provider’s total professional practice during a twelve-month period or it may be the result of the number of days for a locum 
tenens assignment divided by 365 days if the primary policy is short-term (six months or less).  

 
Examples: 

 
Fund Class Group 1 = $404.00 

  
(100% of practice in/for KS) - $404.00 surcharge due 

 
(10% of practice in/for KS) - $404.00 x 10% = $40.40 surcharge due would be the minimum $200.00  

  
  (0% of services in/for KS) - $200.00 minimum surcharge  

https://hcsf.kansas.gov/providers/e-compliance/
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Section 4: 
HCSF Classification Group 15 

The premium and surcharge for this class will be collected by the Kansas Health Care Provider Insurance Availability 
Plan (The Availability Plan) and submitted directly to the Fund on the health care provider’s behalf. 

Section 4: 
HCSF Classification Groups 21 and 22 

1) Determine the amount of individual annual insurance premium paid for professional liability insurance purchased 
from your insurance company. Multiply the individual annual insurance premium by the surcharge percent from 
the Health Care Stabilization Fund Classification Group Rates. (See pg. 4 of instructions.)
If the policy is a short-term policy, the insurance premium paid should reflect the prorated insurance premium 
amount.

2) Enter percent of Kansas practice. If not rendering services in/for Kansas, must enter “0”. Multiply the HCSF 

surcharge percent by percent of Kansas practice. All surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount. 

This ratio may be a reasonable estimate comparing the amount of patient care provided in Kansas compared to the health care 

provider’s total professional practice during a twelve-month period or it may be the result of the number of days for a locum 

tenens assignment divided by 365 days if the primary policy is short-term (six months or less).

Examples:

Insurance premium amount = $2,500

Class Group 21 = 15.5%

(100% of practice in/for KS) - $2,500.00 x 15.5% = $388.00 surcharge due

(10% of practice in/for KS) - $2,500.00 x 15.5% = $388.00 x 10% of practice in KS = $38.80 = minimum $200.00 surcharge 

due

If the surcharge calculation is less than $200.00, the surcharge due would be the minimum surcharge $200.00. 

Section 4: 
Submitting payment 

To access the online payment portal, use the following link: KanPay 

To download the mail-in payment form, use the following link: HCSF Multi Surcharge Form 

The minimum surcharge payable per compliance period is $200 for each health care provider. 

Section 5: 
Health Care Provider’s Certification 

Read, sign and date. (Digital signatures are accepted.) 

https://appengine.egov.com/apps/ks/hcsf/surchargepayment
https://hcsf.kansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/HCSF-Multi-Surcharge-Form.xls
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Class 
Group Surcharge Class Group Description 

1 $404 Physicians No Surgery - Allergy, Dermatology, Forensic Medicine, Legal Medicine, Pathology, 
Psychiatry (including children), Psychoanalysis, Psychosomatic Medicine, Public Health 

2 $788 

Physicians No Surgery - Aerospace Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes, Endocrinology, Family 
Practice, Gastroenterology, General Practice, General Preventive Medicine, Geriatrics, Gynecology, 
Hematology, Hypnosis, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Laryngology, Neoplastic Diseases, 
Nephrology, Neurology (including child), Nuclear Medicine, Nutrition, Occupational Medicine, 
Ophthalmology, Otology, Otorhinolaryngology, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physiatry, Physical Medicine 
& Rehabilitation, Pulmonary Diseases, Radiology, Rheumatology, Rhinology, Urgent Care Physicians, & 
(other Physicians who are not performing surgery and are not otherwise classified) 

3 $1,261 

Physicians Performing/Assisting Minor Surgery or in Surgery - Cardiovascular Disease, 
Dermatology, Diabetes, Endocrinology, Family Practice (no OB procedures), Gastroenterology, General 
Practice, Geriatrics, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Intensive Care 
Medicine, Invasive Procedures (as defined and classified by the basic coverage insurer), Laryngology, 
Neoplastic Diseases, Nephrology, Neurology (including children), Ophthalmology (including minor and 
major surgery), Otology, Otorhinolaryngology, Pathology, Pediatrics, Radiology, Rhinology, Shock 
Therapy, & (other Physicians who are involved in minor surgery and are not otherwise classified) 

4 $1,336 Family Physicians/General Practitioners Performing/Assisting Minor Surgery - includes obstetrical 
procedures, but not Cesarean Sections 

5 $1,610 
Surgical Specialists - Broncho-Esophagology, Colon and Rectal, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, 
Geriatrics, Neoplastic, Nephrology, Urological, Family Physicians or General Practitioners (major 
surgery) 

6 $1,701 Surgical Specialists - Emergency Medicine (minor surgery), Laryngology, Otology, 
Otorhinolaryngology, Rhinology 

7 $1,337 Specialists In Anesthesiology - Physicians or DDS certified by the Board of Healing Arts to administer 
anesthetics. 

8 $3,248 
Surgical Specialists - Emergency Medicine (major surgery), Abdominal, Bariatric, Gynecology, 
Hand, Head and Neck, Plastic ( and/or Otorhinolaryngology), & (others who are involved in major 
surgery and are not otherwise classified) 

9 $3,571 Surgical Specialists - Cardiac, Cardiovascular Disease, Orthopedic, Thoracic, Traumatic, Vascular 
10 $4,637 Surgical Specialists - Obstetrics, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Perinatology 
11 $10,606 Surgical Specialists - Neurology/ Neurosurgeons (including children) 
12 $222 Chiropractors 
13 $373 Nurse Anesthetists 
14 $907 Podiatrists 

 
 Class Group Description 

Class 
Group 

Surcharge
Percent 

Percent based surcharges are calculated by the individual annual basic professional liability coverage. 
(Note: Class Group 15 is the only classification available for providers insured by the Health Care 
Provider Insurance Availability Plan) 

21 15.5% Physician Assistants 
22 18.5% Nurse-Midwives 

 
 
 

Minimum surcharge $200.00 
The minimum surcharge applies to all fund compliance periods, including short-term policies and surcharge 
refund adjustments due to mid-term cancellation or termination of existing compliance periods. 

 
 

 
    

mailto:hcsf@ks.gov
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Section 1 - Health Care Provider Identification and Residency  

Health Care Provider’s Name: ______________________________________ ________________________________ ___________ _____________ 
 Last Name                                                            First Name                                               MI                  Prof. Acronym 

Date of Birth: _____/_____/________ Daytime Phone Number: ______-______-________ Email Address: __________________________________ 

Legal Residence: ______________________________________________ _______________________ ________ __________ _________________ 
(Cannot be a Kansas address) Street Address                                                    City                                        State          Zip               Country if not U.S. 

Mailing Address: ______________________________________________ _______________________ ________ __________ _________________ 
(If different from residence)    Street Address                                                    City                                        State          Zip               Country if not U.S.  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 2 - Health Care Provider Credentials - Fund Coverage: $500,000/$1,500,000 

Statutory Credentials: 

Kansas Licensing Agency: ____ Board of Healing Arts ____ Board of Nursing 

Professional Specialty: _____________________________________ Kansas License Number: ______________________ (include dashes/hyphens)  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 3 – Insurance Policy and Information (current certificate of insurance required with providers name listed) 

Insurance Company (The insurance carrier writing the professional liability policy.): ____________________________________________________ 

Insurance Policy Number: __________________________________ Effective Date: _____/_____/________Expiration Date: _____/_____/________ 

Type of Coverage: ____ Claims Made ____ Occurrence (Occurrence Requirement: must have a locum tenens contract and work less than 182 days)  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 4 – HCSF Surcharge Calculation (rate table pg.4 of instructions) 

HCSF Classification Group Number: _________   

Class Groups 1-14: Surcharge amount for Class Group Number: $_________ 

If short-term policy, prorate surcharge above based on the number of days divided by 365 rounded to the nearest whole percent = ____% = $________ 

Percent of KS practice (if not rendering services in/for KS must enter “0”) ____ % multiplied by surcharge calculated above per class number = $_____ 

Class Groups 21-22: Individual annual insurance premium paid $________ multiplied by HCSF surcharge _______ % rate from table = $_________ 

If short-term policy, the insurance premium paid above should be the prorated insurance premium amount.    

Percent of KS practice (if not rendering services in/for KS must enter “0”) ____% multiplied by surcharge calculated above per class number = $_____ 

HCSF Premium Surcharge Paid $ __________NOTE: Minimum surcharge $200.00. All surcharge payments must be rounded to the nearest whole 
dollar amount. (The minimum surcharge applies to all Fund compliance periods, including short-term policies and surcharge refund adjustments due 
to mid-term cancellation or termination of existing compliance periods.)  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Section 5 – Health Care Provider’s Certification:  
I hereby certify that:(1) I am maintaining a policy of professional liability insurance with limits of not less than $500,000 per claim and $1,500,000 
annual aggregate coverage in accordance with the Kansas Health Care Provider Insurance Availability Act, (2) The above information is true and 
correct to the best of my knowledge, and (3) I will notify the HCSF Board of Governors in the event of any changes in my professional liability 
insurance coverage.  

Signature (digital signatures are accepted): _____________________________________________________________ Date: _____/_____/________ 

Person submitting application if not provider: 

____________________________ ____________________________  ______-______-________ _________________________________________ 
First Name                                       Last Name                                         Phone Number                   Email Address 

Any additional information/explanation regarding application: HCSF USE ONLY 

 Revised 9/23/2024 
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