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Bulletin 2022-1

To: Professional Liability Insurance Companies

From: Clark Shultz, Executive Director

Date: September 22, 2022

Subject: Current surcharge rates remain the same through December 31, 2023

K.S.A. 40-3402 requires defined health care providers to obtain a base policy from an
insurer of not less than $500,000 per claim, subject to not less than a $1,500,000 annual
aggregate. This includes all new policies issued, and all policies renewed on and after
January 1, 2022.

All defined health care providers are also required to obtain coverage from the Health
Care Stabilization Fund in the amount of $500,000 single judgment or settlement,
subject to a $1,500,000 aggregate limitation.

The Board of Governors of the Health Care Stabilization Fund approved the following
Surcharge Rate Table for defined health care providers effective January 1, 2022. This
Rate Table has now been approved for use through December 31, 2023.

A. HCSF Class Groups for Chiropractors, Nurse Anesthetists, Physicians, and Podiatrists:
Insurers are to identify the HCSF rate classification number for each health care provider
based on profession and medical specialty. These are described on pages 4 — 6 of the
Notice of Basic Coverage Instructions, which can be found on our website. The
classification number of the individual health care provider will determine the
corresponding HCSF classification group. There are detailed instructions on pages 6 —7
for health care providers who are in HCSF classification group 3. General descriptions of
each HCSF classification group for all categories of defined health care providers are
listed on page 8 of the instructions.

B. Annual Surcharge Rate Table for Fund Class Groups 1 through 24: Insurers must utilize
the HCSF surcharge rate table appended to this bulletin for purposes of determining the
surcharge payment for health care providers that have been issued basic professional
liability insurance policies with effective dates on or after January 1, 2022. Please note
that this rate table reflects a compression of the years of compliance factors from
previously two categories into only one category.
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Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2022 - December 31, 2023)
Per Kansas Statutes Annotated 40-3404
$500,000 per claim subject to $1,500,000 annual aggregate limit

Fund All years
Class General of Fund
Group Description Compliance
1 Physicians S 396
2 Physicians S 851
3 Physicians S 1,112
4 Physicians S 1,310
5 Physicians S 1,505
6 Physicians S 1,790
7 Physicians S 1,337
8 Physicians S 3,032
9 Physicians S 3,434
10 Physicians S 4,459
11 Physicians S 10,006 -
12 Chiropractors S 229
13 Nurse Anesthetists S 393
14 Podiatrists S 872
15 Availability Plan Insureds 20%
16 Business Entities 15%
17 Medical Care Facilities 16%
18 Community Mental Health Centers 15%
19 Psychiatric Hospital 15%
20 Residents in Training 15%
21 Physician Assistants 15%
22 Nurse-Midwives 17%
23 Assisted Living & Residential Health Care Facilities 15%
24 Nursing Facilities 15%
* The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is +30%.

* The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $200.



