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Bulletin 2015-2

TO: Companies Authorized by the Commissioner of Insurance to Offer
Professional Liability Insurance to Kansas Health Care Providers

FROM: Charles L. Wheelen, Executive Director, Health Care Stabilization Fund
DATE: September 23, 2015
SUBJECT: Calendar Year 2016 HCSF Surcharge Rates and Related Information

The Health Care Stabilization Fund Board of Governors has decided to revise
HCSF surcharge rates effective January 1, 2016. There will be a modest increase for
physicians in classification group eleven attributable to loss experience. There will also
be rate increases for those health care providers in compliance years one through four.
The relative rates for those compliance years are increased somewhat because of the
significant improvements in HCSF tail coverage resulting from statutory amendments
enacted during the 2014 Session of the Legislature. The Board also established a
minimum surcharge of $100.00 for any health care provider for any period of
compliance. The following information remains important for successful completion of
pertinent documents.

A. HCSF Class Groups for Chiropractors, Nurse Anesthetists, Physicians, and
Podiatrists: Insurers are to identify the HCSF rate classification number for each health
care provider based on his or her profession and medical specialty as described on
pages 4 — 5 of the instructions. The classification number of the individual health care
provider will determine the corresponding HCSF classification group. There are detailed
instructions on pages 6 — 7 for health care providers who are in HCSF classification group
3. General descriptions of each group can be found on page 8 of the instructions.

B. Annual Surcharge Rate Tables for Fund Class Groups 1 through 24: Insurers
must utilize the HCSF surcharge rate tables appended to this bulletin for purposes of
determining the surcharge payment for health care providers issued basic professional
liability insurance policies with effective dates on or after January 1, 2016.

(Continued on page 2)
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C. Missouri Modification Factor: All Kansas resident health care providers who
have an active license to practice in Missouri must pay an additional 30% surcharge. If a
health care provider is no longer practicing in Missouri, the Missouri license can be
converted to inactive until such time the licensee wishes to resume his or her Missouri
practice. The additional surcharge is not required if the license is inactive.

D. Notice of Termination: The provisions of K.S.A. 40-3402(a)(2) require that notice
of termination be provided to the HCSF Board of Governors 30 days prior to the
cancellation date if the termination is initiated by the insurer. If instead the cancellation
is initiated by the insured health care provider, the notice of termination must be
provided to the HCSF Board of Governors within ten days after termination of coverage.

For a number of reasons, there are occasions when a health care provider
requests cancellation of an insurance policy and immediately purchases another policy.
A typical example is when a health care provider changes employers and the new
employer agrees to make payment for professional liability insurance. Because K.S.A.
40-3402(a)(1) allows a 30 day period for submission of the notice of basic coverage,
there is often a period of about 20 days when it appears that a health care provider is
not in compliance with K.S.A. 40-3402. This invokes the provisions of K.S.A. 40-3416
which require the HCSF Board of Governors to make a report to the state agency that
licenses the health care provider and also requires the licensing agency to investigate.
The HCSF staff endeavors to avoid reports to the licensing agencies whenever possible.

If it is known that a health care provider will be purchasing another
professional liability insurance policy upon cancellation of existing coverage, please
inform the HCSF Board of Governors in the notice of cancellation. Your assistance will
be appreciated.

Any questions regarding the 2016 HCSF surcharge rates may be sent to
hcsf@hcsf.org.



Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2016)

OPTION 1*

[$100,000 per claim subject to $300,000 annual aggregate limit]

Fund 1st Year 2nd Year 3rd Year 4th Year 5th Year

Class General of Fund of Fund of Fund of Fund of Fund

Group Description Compliance Compliance Compliance Compliance Compliance
1 physicians S 100 S 188 S 291 S 325 S 342
2 physicians S 193 S 425 S 657 S 734 S 773
3 physicians S 266 S 585 S 904 S 1,010 S 1,063
4 physicians S 297 S 654 S 1,011 S 1,130 S 1,189
5 physicians S 325 S 716 S 1,106 S 1,236 S 1,301
6 physicians S 378 S 831 S 1,284 S 1,435 S 1,510
7 physicians S 282 S 621 S 960 S 1,073 S 1,129
8 physicians S 725 S 1,594 S 2,463 S 2,753 S 2,898
9 physicians S 728 S 1,601 S 2,474 S 2,765 S 2,910
10 physicians S 1,066 S 2,346 S 3,625 S 4,052 S 4,265
11 physicians S 1,876 S 4,128 S 6,379 s 7,130 S 7,505
12 chiropractors S 100 S 120 S 186 S 208 S 219
13 nurse anesthetists S 100 S 208 S 321 S 359 S 378
14 podiatrists S 208 S 458 S 707 S 790 S 832
15 Availability Plan 24% 24% 24% 24% 23%
16 business entities 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
17 hospitals & A.S.C.s 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
18 C.M.H.Cs 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
19 psychiatric hospital 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
20 residents in training 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
21 physician assistants 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
22 nurse-midwives 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
23 assisted living and residential health care facilities 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%
24 nursing facilities 23% 23% 23% 23% 22%

The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is 30%.
The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $100.



Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2016)

OPTION 2*

[$300,000 per claim subject to $900,000 annual aggregate limit]

Fund 1st Year 2nd Year 3rd Year 4th Year 5th Year
Class General of Fund of Fund of Fund of Fund of Fund
Group Description Compliance Compliance Compliance Compliance Compliance
1 physicians S 150 S 330 S 510 S 570 S 600
2 physicians S 339 S 745 S 1,151 S 1,286 S 1,354
3 physicians S 466 S 1,024 S 1,583 S 1,769 S 1,862
4 physicians S 520 S 1,143 S 1,767 S 1,975 S 2,079
5 physicians S 569 S 1,252 S 1,935 S 2,162 S 2,276
6 physicians S 660 S 1,453 S 2,245 S 2,509 S 2,641
7 physicians S 494 S 1,086 S 1,679 S 1,876 S 1,975
8 physicians S 1,269 S 2,791 S 4,313 S 4,820 S 5,074
9 physicians S 1,273 S 2,800 S 4,327 S 4,836 S 5,090
10 physicians S 1,865 S 4,103 S 6,341 S 7,087 S 7,460
11 physicians S 3,284 S 7,224 S 11,164 S 12,477 S 13,134
12 chiropractors S 100 S 211 S 326 S 365 S 384
13 nurse anesthetists S 165 S 362 S 560 S 626 S 659
14 podiatrists S 365 S 802 S 1,239 S 1,385 S 1,458
15 Availability Plan 37% 37% 37% 37% 35%
16 business entities 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
17 hospitals & A.S.C.s 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
18 C.M.H.Cs 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
19 psychiatric hospital 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
20 residents in training 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
21 physician assistants 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
22 nurse-midwives 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
23 assisted living and residential health care facilities 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%
24 nursing facilities 35% 35% 35% 35% 33%

The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is 30%.
The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $100.



Health Care Stabilization Fund Surcharge Rates (Effective January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2016)

OPTION 3*

[$800,000 per claim subject to $2,400,000 annual aggregate limit]

Fund 1st Year 2nd Year 3rd Year 4th Year 5th Year

Class General of Fund of Fund of Fund of Fund of Fund

Group Description Compliance Compliance Compliance Compliance Compliance
1 physicians S 188 S 414 S 640 S 715 S 753
2 physicians S 425 S 934 S 1,444 S 1,614 S 1,699
3 physicians S 585 S 1,286 S 1,988 S 2,222 S 2,339
4 physicians S 654 S 1,439 S 2,224 S 2,485 S 2,616
5 physicians S 715 S 1,574 S 2,432 S 2,718 S 2,861
6 physicians S 831 S 1,827 S 2,824 S 3,156 S 3,322
7 physicians S 621 S 1,365 S 2,110 S 2,358 S 2,482
8 physicians S 1,594 S 3,507 S 5,420 S 6,058 S 6,377
9 physicians S 1,600 S 3,519 S 5,439 S 6,079 S 6,399
10 physicians S 2,345 $ 5,158 S 7,972 S 8,910 S 9,379
11 physicians S 4,128 S 9,081 S 14,034 S 15,685 S 16,510
12 chiropractors S 120 S 265 S 409 S 457 S 481
13 nurse anesthetists S 207 S 455 S 703 S 786 S 827
14 podiatrists S 458 S 1,008 S 1,558 S 1,741 S 1,833
15 Availability Plan 42% 42% 42% 42% 40%
16 business entities 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
17 hospitals & A.S.C.s 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
18 C.M.H.Cs 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
19 psychiatric hospital 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
20 residents in training 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
21 physician assistants 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
22 nurse-midwives 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
23 assisted living and residential health care facilities 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%
24 nursing facilities 40% 40% 40% 40% 38%

*

*

The additional surcharge for Kansas resident health care providers with an active Missouri license is 30%.

The minimum surcharge for any category of health care provider for any period of compliance is $100.
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